Zpoluras releases the CD Music to SHARE


The Music was recorded during the MIA festival of 2021.
Since 2010 the Meeting of Improvised Music of Atouguia da Baleia – MIA, has been held, having grown year after year in the number of participants and in the quality of the music.
This 12th edition was quite special, as due to the restrictions of the pandemic, the meeting was smaller than usual, with the participation of 34 musicians, which is significantly below the approximately 100 who participated in the pre-covid times.
Nonetheless, the quality of the musical creation, as well as its recording, was so high that we wanted to perpetuate it through this CD. As it would be impossible to present on this disc all the recordings made, which total about 10 hours of music, here are excerpts from practically all the concerts that were part of MIA 2021.
It is therefore a collection of what may be some of the most representative moments of what happened in Atouguia da Baleia during that weekend in June. For the biggest fans, the full version of the MIA 2021 concerts can be watched on the Zpoluras youtube channel.


Musicians on the album

1. Like a lullaby
Maria Dybbroe – saxophone, Paulo Duarte – guitar, Joana Guerra – cello, Vito Basile – bass

2. European scat
Elisabetta Lanfredini – vocals, Niels Mestre – guitar, Manuel Guimarães – piano, Jonathan Aardestrup – doublebass

3. Cacto
Ricardo Jacinto – cello, Nuno Torres – saxophone, Nuno Morão – percussion

4. One night in Atouguia da Baleia
Rodrigo Amado – saxophone, Hernâni Faustino – doublebass, João Lencastre – drums

5. 190621 – Voltaic Trio
Luís Guerreiro – trumpet and electronics, Jorge Nuno – guitar, João Valinho – drums

6. 5TO1
Maria Radich – vocals, Maria do Mar – violin, Carlo Mascolo – trombone, Paulo Pimentel – piano, Mário Rua – drums

7. Short tale of wood and metal
João Pedro Viegas – bass clarinet, François Mellan – tuba, Alvaro Rosso – doublebass, Miguel Falcão – doublebass

8. Who was who
Paulo Chagas – flute, Nuno Rebelo – guitar, Miguel Mira – cello, Felice Furioso – drums

9. More music to share
Carla Santana – electronics, Carlo Mascolo – trombone, Uygur Vural – cello, Carlos Canão – gong and tibetan bowls

10. Joker
François Mellan – tuba, Miguel Falcão – doublebass, Paulo Pimentel – piano, Niels Mestre – guitar, Jonathan Aardestrup – doublebass, Maria Dybbroe – saxophone, Paulo Duarte – guitar, Vito Basile – bass, Carlo Mascolo – trombone, Uygur Vural – cello, Carlos Canão – gong and tibetan bowls


Recorded at Sociedade Filarmónica União 1º de Dezembro de 1902 de Atouguia da Baleia on June 18, 19 and 20, 2021, except for track 7, recorded at Igreja de S. José, Atouguia da Baleia.

Recorded and mixed by Leon Bucaretchi
Edited and produced by Paulo Chagas


See more on the label bandcamp> Zpoluras Bandcamp

Listen here